Suspension from "school" for talking! - long but need help - UPDATED!

Discussion in 'The Toddler Years(1-3)' started by kcole, Mar 21, 2007.

1. kcole

kcole Well-Known Member

Well, I have to say I really need some feedback from you ladies on this one - I saw a posting the other day about a child being "suspended" from daycare for biting and I have another "suspension" issue with my daughter.

Her daycare is threatening to suspend her for, get this, - TALKING IN CLASS!!! She is in the four-year-old room and her teacher/director of the daycare (same person) wrote me a note yesterday telling me that Lily is talking in class and HUMMING(!) too much. Therefore, if she doesn't "straighten up" they will suspend her for a day!!!

FIRST, she's FOUR YEARS OLD!! Second, is that really a reason to suspend a child? I'm a teacher as well (college) and would be laughed at if I tried to throw a student out of my class for TALKING (and they are 20+ years old - they know better - they are not 4!) Third, is humming really that big of an issue? Especially during "TV time" or while she's eating? Could she just be happy or have a sweet little tune going through her head. As far as I can tell, Lily has gotten in trouble for talking and/or humming during class time, activity time, bathroom time, nap time, eating time, and TV TIME!!