What to expect if twins born at 34 weeks

Discussion in 'Pregnancy Help' started by nkirk, Nov 13, 2007.

1. nkirk

nkirk Well-Known Member

Hi There,

I've been on bedrest for the past few weeks due to rising blood pressure. My doctor has told me that the blood flow to baby b has been negatively impacted and I may need to give birth soon, depending on how things pan out. I'm no expert, but it doesn't sound good to me... and I'm trying to get mentally prepared to deliver soon. I just wondered if anyone had given birth around 34 weeks? If so, what types of things should I expect? <_<

2. Leighann

Leighann Well-Known Member

I delivered at exactly 34 weeks. I had steriod shots at 30 weeks when I went into ptl and I think that helped my girls a lot. They were kind of small for 34 weekers, but I'm a small person so my doctors weren't concerned. In the delivery room there were two full NICU teams for each baby. I did get to see them before they went to the NICU, something I was very thankful about since I didn't see them again for over 6 hours (long annoying story).

Meara needed oxygen and the CPAP, but Ana was able to breath on her own and actually had her first bottle at 6 hours old. I tried to nurse Ana that night, but she was so tiny and couldn't latch (this was with the help of lactation nurse), so I started pumping for them that night (not that I got anything, but again, thats another story). Meara pulled out the CPAP early the next morning and did fine so the pulmonary team said that she could go without.

We got a lot of conflicting info while in the NICU. Obviously they can't tell you when your babies will come home, but one doctor predicted by the end of the week and another said not until their due date probably. They were in isolettes for over a week and then when they were transferred to an open crib they put the girls together in one big crib. I know some NICUs don't do this, but we were very grateful that ours did.